Vrbo's Flat 12% Commission: What Changes on Oct 29, 2026

Vrbo is changing how it gets paid. According to Expedia's FAQ "Vrbo Compensation Model Changes," dated 1 October 2026, Vrbo is retiring its subscription model and moving hosts to a 12 percent commission on each booking, higher in some regions. The FAQ says the changes "will begin going into effect on October 29, 2026."
We read four official pages: Expedia's FAQ, Vrbo's help article on the pay-per-booking model, the Vrbo Host Terms, and Expedia's Vrbo newsroom archive page. This post sticks to what they say, says plainly where they are silent, and ends with things worth checking before Oct 29. This is not legal advice; check the current policy before you act.
What Vrbo is changing: subscription out, commission per booking in
Expedia's FAQ says "Vrbo is retiring its Pay-Per-Subscription model" and migrating existing hosts to Pay-Per-Booking. Under pay-per-booking, the FAQ says "Listing your property is completely free" and you "only pay a fee when you receive bookings." Vrbo gives its reason as streamlining its compensation models "to align with industry standards." Those are Vrbo's statements about its own pricing, and this post does not test them.
For every dated fall change on both platforms in one place, see our hub overview of the fall 2026 changes.
The 12% rate, and where it can be higher
The FAQ says hosts on pay-per-booking "will incur a flat 12% commission fee on bookings, which includes payment processing fees." Vrbo's help center article gives the same 12% commission.
It is not universal. The FAQ says commission "may vary regionally and across Vrbo's global heritage brands, ranging from 12-15%," and that hosts can find their rate in the Vrbo Dashboard. The help article adds that in some regions, "including parts of Europe, Australia, and New Zealand," Professional Plan commission "may range up to 15% and include payment processing fees." It also says "VAT is charged in addition to the 12% commission" where VAT applies, and says GST is added to the commission in Australia and New Zealand (not in Japan). If your property is outside the United States, read that page directly.
The FAQ does not state what commission any host paid before the change; it refers only to "the host's previous commission rate." Because the pages publish no prior rate, this post does not either.
What the 12% is charged on
A natural question is whether the commission applies only to the nightly rate. According to the help center article, the 12% "is charged on the rental amount" and on additional fees you charge the traveler, such as cleaning, pet and boat fees. The same article says the commission is "not charged on Vrbo traveler service fees, taxes, refundable deposits, or insurance products." The FAQ agrees: "Taxes and refundable damage deposits are treated separately from the commission."
The Host Terms say the same in legal language. Clause 4.6.1 describes the commission as "a percentage of the total rental amount (including any mandatory fees charged by Host)," and clause 4.6.2 says the calculation does not include taxes or other products the guest buys, such as insurance. Clause 4.6.1 states no percentage; the 12% is in the FAQ and help article. The same clause also lists "a payment processing fee" due to Vrbo Payments or a third-party processor "(as applicable)," so check your booking statements for which applies to you.
In practice, a cleaning, pet or boat fee you charge on Vrbo sits inside the base the commission is calculated on. Check how your account and any connected software treat it.

What Vrbo's published pay-per-booking page says the 12% commission is, and is not, charged on.
Processing fees: Vrbo's merchant of record versus your own processor
If Vrbo handles the guest's payment, the FAQ says "payment processing fees are going away for hosts who are on Vrbo's merchant of record," beginning October 29, 2026, with some regional exceptions. The help article says Vrbo "does not charge a separate payment processing fee" in that case.
If you use your own processor, the help article says Vrbo charges the 12% and "you will continue to pay any applicable processing fees charged by your chosen payment processor." It adds that Vrbo is not responsible for payments your processor handles. Your cost on those bookings is the 12% plus your processor's charge.
Vrbo's pages we read do not state what a third-party processor charges; that is set between you and the processor. The worked example below shows how to compare the two setups with your own numbers. If you use property management software, the FAQ says "additional fees may vary" and points to your Vrbo Dashboard and booking statements. For how the two platforms' fees compare, see the Airbnb vs Vrbo side-by-side.
Timing: booking date, start date and subscription term
All three timing rules come from Expedia's FAQ; clause 4.6.6 of the Host Terms also says a subscription listing converts only at the end of its subscription term.
Start date. "Changes will begin going into effect on October 29, 2026." Neither the FAQ nor the help article says every host switches on that exact day, so check your own dashboard.
Booking date decides the rate, not the stay date. Bookings made after the new model starts get the new rate; bookings made before are "subject to the host's previous commission rate," plus the usual processing fee if Vrbo is the merchant of record. Rates are "calculated based on the time the booking was made." A reservation booked October 20 for a January stay keeps the older terms.
Subscription hosts change at the end of their term. The FAQ says changes "will go into effect at the end of their subscription term." It does not say what date a given host's term ends, so that has to come from your account or from Vrbo.

Only two dates are official; subscription hosts change at the end of their own term.
Vrbo can change the commission again. Clause 4.6.1 of the Host Terms, which show "Effective From: 29 October 2026," says changes are notified "at least 30 days before the new Commission is applied." We found no later official statement altering the October 29 start. On October 22, 2026 we checked Expedia's newsroom Vrbo archive page; its latest item, dated 14 October 2026, is a travel-trends release, and nothing on the page concerns the commission.
Rate Automation: no one-time adjustment for the 12%
If you use Rate Automation, the FAQ asks whether rates will "automatically increase to account for the move to a 12% commission rate." Its answer: "Vrbo will not apply a one-time base rate adjustment" to account for the new commission rates.
Rate Automation keeps working, though. The FAQ says it "will continue to keep your rates competitive in response to changing market conditions," and recommends that users "review their settings, including min and max rate limits, and seasonal rate limits or exclusions." The FAQ does not say Vrbo will change the minimum or maximum limits you set, so check them yourself. For deciding whether to raise prices, see five signals that you are undercharging and ADR and RevPAR with your own numbers.
Illustrative example: holding your payout steady
Illustrative example. Assumptions stated. Not real booking data.
The formula for the price that keeps your payout steady is:
new price = old price x (1 - old rate) / (1 - 0.12)
Assumptions, all ours: a booking totaling $1,000 in rental amount plus host-charged fees; assumed old total rates of 5%, 8% and 10% (commission plus any processing fee you paid before the change, since the FAQ says pre-change bookings on Vrbo's merchant of record carried "the usual payment processing fee"); Vrbo as merchant of record; no taxes or deposits; no change in how many guests book. The old total rates are assumed inputs, not Vrbo figures and not what any host paid. Add your old processing fee to your old commission before you use the formula.
Assumed old total rate 5% (commission plus processing): payout at $1,000 under old rate $950.00; payout at $1,000 under 12% $880.00; price that holds the old payout at 12% $1,079.55 (formula $1,000 x 0.95 / 0.88).
Assumed old total rate 8% (commission plus processing): payout at $1,000 under old rate $920.00; payout at $1,000 under 12% $880.00; price that holds the old payout at 12% $1,045.45 (formula $1,000 x 0.92 / 0.88).
Assumed old total rate 10% (commission plus processing): payout at $1,000 under old rate $900.00; payout at $1,000 under 12% $880.00; price that holds the old payout at 12% $1,022.73 (formula $1,000 x 0.90 / 0.88).
The formula holds payout per booking steady; it says nothing about whether guests still book at a higher price. A price change on one channel also has consequences elsewhere, including how the rate compares with your other channels. The Host Terms contain content and pricing provisions. More scenarios are in Vrbo take-home math at 12%.
Illustrative example. Assumptions stated. Not real booking data.
Processor comparison, same $1,000, 12% commission, and an assumed own-processor charge of 3% of the $1,000 (not a Vrbo figure or any real processor's quote):
Vrbo as merchant of record: 12% x $1,000 = $120.00 commission, no separate processing fee. Payout $880.00.
Your own processor: $120.00 commission plus 3% x $1,000 = $30.00. Payout $850.00.
Replace 3% and $1,000 with your real figures. The example ignores taxes, deposits, VAT and regional exceptions.
What to check before October 29
Built only from what the official pages say:
Find your rate in the Vrbo Dashboard; do not assume 12% where the pages list 12% to 15%.
Confirm who is merchant of record on your account, outside the regional exceptions the FAQ mentions. The 12% includes processing only for hosts on Vrbo's merchant of record.
Review Rate Automation limits: min and max rates and seasonal limits or exclusions.
Note your booking dates. Bookings made before your change date keep the previous commission, whatever the stay date.
On a subscription? Find out when your term ends; the FAQ says the change takes effect then.
Open a booking's payment details. The FAQ says hosts can expand them to see what the traveler paid, the commission, and the payout.
Ask your software provider if you use property management software.
Do not collect a Vrbo booking's charges outside Vrbo's service to skip the commission. According to clause 4.6.1 of the Host Terms, doing so is a breach, and the host still owes the commission on that booking.
Decide pricing deliberately, thinking about your other channels and reading the terms first.
For how Vrbo costs compare with other ways to sell, see what OTA fees actually cost each year, OTA terms explained plainly, and the Airbnb versus Vrbo host fee comparison.
What this post does not cover
This post covers the commission on bookings made through Vrbo. It does not claim any change applies to bookings you take through your own channels. One FAQ line is related: it addresses Vrbo charging a commission "when a traveler searches on Vrbo, but then books on another channel," calling it a protection "created to prevent the leakage of bookings outside of the Vrbo platform." The FAQ says this has existed in Vrbo's Listing Agreements for several years and is now in the Terms and Conditions for consistency.
Nor do we give a traveler service fee number, because Vrbo has not published one: the FAQ says Vrbo "does not disclose its traveler service fee range." See Vrbo's traveler service fee. Trade press has reported figures and plans that do not appear on the official pages we read; we left them out.
Frequently asked questions
What is Vrbo's new commission?
Expedia's FAQ says hosts on pay-per-booking pay a flat 12% commission that includes payment processing fees. It says the rate may range from 12% to 15% by region.
When does the new commission start?
Expedia's FAQ says changes will begin going into effect on October 29, 2026. It does not say every host switches that day; subscription hosts change at the end of their term.
What is the 12% charged on?
Vrbo's help article says the 12% is charged on the rental amount and on extra fees you charge the traveler, such as cleaning, pet and boat fees. It is not charged on taxes or refundable deposits.
Does Vrbo still charge a separate payment processing fee?
Expedia's FAQ says processing fees are going away for hosts on Vrbo's merchant of record. Vrbo's help article says Vrbo does not charge a separate processing fee in that case.
What if I use my own payment processor?
Vrbo's help article says that with your own processor, Vrbo charges the 12% and you keep paying any applicable fees your chosen processor charges. Vrbo is not responsible for those payments.
Which commission applies to a booking made before October 29 for a stay after that date?
The previous one. Expedia's FAQ says rates are calculated based on the time the booking was made, not the stay dates, so earlier bookings keep the host's previous commission rate.
When does the change reach hosts who are on a Vrbo subscription?
Expedia's FAQ says changes for hosts on the subscription model go into effect at the end of their subscription term. It does not state the date any host's term ends.
Can the commission be higher than 12%?
Yes, in some places. Expedia's FAQ says commission may range from 12% to 15% by region and brand. Vrbo's help article says VAT is charged in addition to the 12% where it applies.
Will Vrbo's Rate Automation raise my prices to cover the 12%?
Not through a one-time adjustment. Expedia's FAQ says Vrbo will not apply a one-time base rate adjustment. It recommends reviewing min and max rate limits and seasonal limits.
Can Vrbo change the commission again later?
Vrbo's Host Terms, effective 29 October 2026, say commission changes are notified to the host at least 30 days before the new commission is applied.
Sources
Every official page used for this post, read in full on 2026-10-22. Quotes in the post are 15 words or fewer and attributed inline.
Vrbo Compensation Model Changes (browser tab title: "Vrbo Compensation Model Changes - Expedia Newsrooms"; Expedia Newsroom FAQ). https://www.expedia.com/newsroom/vrbo-compensation-model-changes/. Date: dateline "AUSTIN, 1 OCTOBER 2026"; page metadata shows it was modified 20 October 2026. Accessed 2026-10-22.
About the pay-per-booking (PPB) model (Vrbo Help). https://help.vrbo.com/articles/How-is-the-booking-fee-calculated. Date: no date shown (footer shows only "© 2026"). Accessed 2026-10-22.
Terms of Service (Vrbo Host Terms of Service). https://www.vrbo.com/lp/b/host-terms-notice. Date: "Effective From: 29 October 2026". Accessed 2026-10-22.
Vrbo Archives (Expedia Newsrooms). https://www.expedia.com/newsroom/companies/vrbo/. Date: no date shown for the page; most recent item on it is dated 14 October 2026. Accessed 2026-10-22.
This post is not legal advice. Check the current policy on the pages above before you act.
Featured photo: Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash (stock photo).
Related Reading
More on Vrbo's fall 2026 changes, hosting math and multi-channel pricing.
Work with Crest & Cove Creative
Selling on Vrbo, Airbnb and your own channels is a lot easier when your marketing works the same way every week.
Crest & Cove Creative helps independent hosts build marketing that holds up when platform rules change. Visit https://www.crestcove.co or call (256) 998-7502.





Comments