top of page

Fall 2026 Host Checklist: What to Review Before Oct 29 and Nov 20

2 days ago
11 min read
Open lined notebook with a dark pen on it, two pencils and a black pencil cup on a wooden desk.

Two official dates frame this checklist. Expedia's FAQ for Vrbo says "Changes will begin going into effect on October 29, 2026." Airbnb's Resource Center says its new house rules policy "takes effect November 20, 2026." This checklist gathers what to read, review and recalculate in your own accounts around those dates, and each item names the official page it comes from, with a link to the post that covers it where there is one.


A few limits first. "Before" is our planning frame: neither platform set a host-action deadline of October 29 or November 20, and we found no such deadline on the pages. Nothing here is a legal requirement, and nothing here is legal advice. Each item is something to read or recalculate, not a way around any rule. For all the dated changes in one place, see our hub overview of the fall 2026 changes.


The dates this checklist uses

Every date below appears on an official page, as read in the posts linked beside it. They are platform dates, not legal deadlines.


  • 29 Oct 2026 (Vrbo): Changes "begin going into effect"; the Host Terms show "Effective From: 29 October 2026". Source post: post on the 12% commission.

  • 20 Nov 2026 (Airbnb): The house rules policy applies to reservations booked on or after this date. Source post: post on the house rules policy.

  • Sept 15 and Oct 13 (Airbnb): Last days for Airbnb's one-time price adjustment for the single host-paid fee, by where the host lives; the article prints no year. Source post: post on the single fee.

  • October (Airbnb): Dynamic pricing "starts rolling out in October"; no start day given. Source post: post on dynamic pricing.


Vrbo's Host Cancellations Policy page shows no date, so it is not in this list; it appears under "any date" below.


Printable two-column checklist. Left column, Vrbo around October 29: find your rate in the Vrbo Dashboard, confirm merchant of record, check Rate Automation limits, sort bookings by booking date, find your subscription end date, recalculate payout. Right column, Airbnb around November 20: open House rules and requests, check requests against Airbnb's examples, look for fine or penalty wording, check contract and data questions, re-cost turnover, note booking dates.

Review items by date; the dates come from official Airbnb and Vrbo pages.


Part 1: Vrbo, around October 29

These items come from Expedia's FAQ, Vrbo's pay-per-booking help article and the Vrbo Host Terms. The full reading is in our post on Vrbo's flat 12% commission.


  1. Find the rate that applies to you. The FAQ says hosts "can find the rate that applies to their listing(s) in the Vrbo Dashboard." It also says commission may range "from 12-15%" by region and brand, so do not assume 12% before you look.

  2. Confirm who is merchant of record on your account. The FAQ says processing fees are going away "for hosts who are on Vrbo's merchant of record," with some regional exceptions. With your own processor, the help article says you keep paying that processor's fees. The comparison is in the commission post.

  3. Review Rate Automation limits. The FAQ says "Vrbo will not apply a one-time base rate adjustment" for the new commission, and recommends reviewing min and max rate limits and seasonal limits or exclusions. It does not say Vrbo will change the limits you set.

  4. Sort your bookings by booking date. The FAQ says rates are "calculated based on the time the booking was made," so a booking made before the change keeps the host's previous commission rate, whatever the stay date.

  5. Find your subscription end date, if you are on a subscription. The FAQ says changes go into effect "at the end of their subscription term." It does not state any host's end date, so it has to come from your account or from Vrbo.

  6. Recalculate your payout with your own numbers. The method is payout = price x (1 - total rate). Use your own rate, and add any processing fee you paid before the change to your old rate. Our worked examples at 12% use assumed numbers and say so. The Airbnb versus Vrbo side-by-side lists each platform's fee base.

  7. Note what the commission is charged on. The help article says 12% "is charged on the rental amount" plus fees you charge the traveler, such as cleaning, pet and boat fees. It is "not charged on Vrbo traveler service fees, taxes, refundable deposits, or insurance products."

  8. Do not promise a guest a traveler fee amount. The FAQ says "Vrbo does not disclose its traveler service fee range." See what Vrbo has and has not said about the traveler fee.

  9. Read clause 4.5.7 of the Host Terms before changing a Vrbo-only price. It asks for content "at least as complete, accurate, current, detailed, and favorable" as what you make available through the channels it lists. The pages do not say how Vrbo applies it to a particular price gap, so read the clause on the live Terms page and ask Vrbo or a qualified advisor about your own situation.

  10. Know that Vrbo can change the commission again. Clause 4.6.1 says changes are notified "at least 30 days before the new Commission is applied."


Part 2: Airbnb items that already carry dates

These two items are dated differently from the Nov 20 policy, so they sit apart.


  1. Check which fee structure your account shows. Airbnb's Help Center says it is "in the process of transitioning" home hosts to a single host-paid fee, and "Most hosts pay 15.5%." The Resource Center article gives September 15 for hosts who live outside the European Economic Area and October 13 for hosts who live within it or in Switzerland as the dates to use its one-time price adjustment. The article prints no year; its page is dated Jul 7, 2026 and updated Aug 24, 2026, so the dates read as 2026, and both are earlier than this post. It says the single fee "will only apply to reservations made after you switch," and the Help Center says "can't switch back" once you have. If a co-host manages your listing, the article says "Co-hosts can't make this one-time price adjustment." The detail is in Airbnb's single host-paid fee, and the platform comparison is in the side-by-side.

  2. Read the pricing tools before accepting a range or a discount. The Resource Center says dynamic pricing "starts rolling out in October" and describes a discount of 15% for guests rated 4.8 stars or above with at least 3 reviews. The pages do not say who gets either tool or whether dynamic pricing sits beside Smart Pricing. Write down your own baseline first; Airbnb's pilot figures describe the discount, not dynamic pricing, and are not yours. See what hosts know so far about dynamic pricing.


Part 3: Airbnb, before Nov 20 bookings

These items come from Airbnb's Help Center articles on reasonable house rules and requests, adding requests, and host-imposed contracts, plus two Resource Center articles. The overview is in Airbnb's new house rules policy, explained.


  1. Note the booking date on each reservation. The Help Center says the policy "applies to all reservations booked on or after November 20, 2026." That wording refers to when a reservation is booked. The article does not say what governs earlier bookings, and we do not either. Separately, a Help Center article on adding requests says changes you make "will only apply to future reservations received after the changes."

  2. Open the Listing editor and read your House rules and requests section as a guest would. The Resource Center says hosts "choose from 7 standard rules and add reasonable requests." It says checkout instructions "no longer appear in a separate tab." Every rule and request must be "disclosed in the designated section of the listing page at the time of booking," per the Help Center.

  3. Check each checkout request against Airbnb's own examples. Airbnb's pairs cover dishes, laundry, trash and utilities, and introduce them as "examples of what generally is and isn't allowed." One pair reads: guests shouldn't be asked to "wash and put away dishes," but you can ask them to "put used dishes in the sink." The pages do not say whether a dishwasher counts. Sort your list with what you can still ask guests at checkout.

  4. Look for fine or penalty wording, and check where each fee sits. The Help Center lists "Impose fines or other penalties on guests" among things hosts are generally not allowed to do, and says fees for an advertised part of the listing "must be included in the price shown to guests." Optional add-ons may be described in requests. See the fines and fee-in-price rule.

  5. Look for rules living elsewhere in your own materials. The Help Center says hosts may not communicate new rules or requests elsewhere on the listing or after booking, "including by message, signs in the home, or in person." Read your listing description, saved message templates and printed signs against that sentence. The same article says every rule and request must be disclosed in the designated section and be reasonable, so a chore moved elsewhere fails the disclosure requirement whatever its merits.

  6. Re-cost turnover with your own numbers. Airbnb's Help Center says "Hosts may not charge guest fees for failing to perform specific cleaning or checkout tasks." The pages we read set no cap on cleaning fees. Whether and how to change a fee is your decision. The worksheet is in your cleaning fee after the chores policy.

  7. List every contract, form and guest question you use. The contracts policy applies to reservations "booked on or after November 20, 2026," with earlier ones "covered by the previous policy." It says hosts "may not solicit personal data at any point during the booking process or stay." The policy has exceptions, and the post walks through them: Airbnb's limits on guest contracts and personal data. Ask a qualified professional about contracts, privacy law or HOA rules.

  8. Learn the documented review path. The Resource Center says requests that do not follow the policy "will be highlighted in the Listing editor," with an email and "an opportunity to submit an appeal." Guests "may see an alert on your listing" if an issue goes unresolved. The pages give no appeal deadline, no placement or duration for the alert, and no definition of a persistent violation. See how Airbnb will enforce house rules.

  9. Rewrite inside the designated section. Use the plain-language worksheet. Airbnb does not promise that any wording will pass review, and neither does the worksheet.


The pages say nothing, either way, about whether the Nov 20 policy reaches bookings made outside Airbnb. This checklist makes no claim about that.


Part 4: Both platforms, any date

  1. Check cancellation exposure on a multi-channel calendar. Vrbo's Host Cancellations Policy lists fees of 100%, 50% or 25% of the reservation by timing, and says "There is no maximum fee." It names a host double-booking as the first example of a cancellation that may be subject to enforcement. The page shows no date, and this post gives none. Know which tier a cancellation would fall in, keep calendars in step across every place you take bookings, and read the waiver list on the live page. The page also treats encouraging or pressuring a guest to cancel as a host cancellation. See Vrbo host cancellation fees. For how each platform's fees compare once calendars are synced, see the side-by-side.

  2. Read each platform's off-platform pages before you edit any listing text or saved message. Airbnb's pricing and payment article says "all communications prior to booking must be on Airbnb." Vrbo's help article says reservations "must be made through Vrbo," and that to send a blocked message you remove the content that violates its policy. Vrbo's Off-Platform Booking Policy page adds that hosts must not communicate outside Vrbo's messaging "until after a reservation is confirmed." This checklist does not suggest contacting platform guests, or placing a link, offer or contact detail in a listing or message.

  3. Ask your software provider how it calculates each platform's fees, if you use property management software or a channel manager. The side-by-side lists what to check in each account.

  4. Re-read the official pages before you act. Airbnb's Resource Center notes that its information "may have changed since publication." The Expedia FAQ's page metadata shows it was modified 20 October 2026. For a habit that keeps this from becoming a scramble, see a weekly marketing rhythm independent hosts can keep.


What this checklist does not do

  • It does not set deadlines. The dates in the list above come from official pages, and none is a legal deadline.

  • It does not say any item is legally required.

  • It does not tell you to raise, lower or hold any price. The pricing items are recalculations with your own numbers.

  • It does not say whether any change reaches bookings made outside Airbnb or Vrbo.

  • It leaves out trade-press reports; the series posts say where those differ from the official pages.


Frequently asked questions

What should Airbnb and Vrbo hosts review before November 2026?

Vrbo's changes begin going into effect on October 29, 2026, and Airbnb's house rules policy takes effect November 20, 2026, per their official pages. Each checklist item names its official source page.


When do Vrbo's changes begin?

Expedia's FAQ says changes will begin going into effect on October 29, 2026. Subscription hosts change at the end of their subscription term, and the FAQ does not give any host's term end date.


Which Airbnb reservations does the Nov 20 policy cover?

Airbnb's Help Center says the policy applies to all reservations booked on or after November 20, 2026. The wording refers to when a reservation is booked, not to check-in.


Does the Nov 20 policy apply to bookings made outside Airbnb?

The Airbnb pages we read do not say either way, and we make no claim about it. Re-read the pages and ask Airbnb or a qualified advisor about your own situation.


Will Vrbo's Rate Automation raise my rates for the 12%?

Expedia's FAQ says Vrbo will not apply a one-time base rate adjustment. It recommends reviewing min and max rate limits and seasonal limits or exclusions.


Where do I find my Vrbo commission rate?

Expedia's FAQ says hosts can find the rate that applies to their listing in the Vrbo Dashboard. It says commission may range from 12% to 15% by region and brand.


Is this checklist a legal requirement?

No. The dates come from official Airbnb and Vrbo pages, but "before" is our planning frame. Nothing here is legal advice; ask a qualified professional about your own situation.


What Vrbo cancellation fees should multi-channel hosts know?

Vrbo's Host Cancellations Policy page lists 100%, 50% or 25% of the reservation by timing, a $50 USD minimum for USD payouts, and no maximum fee. Read the live page.


Where do Airbnb's single-fee dates fit?

Airbnb's Resource Center gives September 15 for hosts outside the EEA and October 13 for hosts in the EEA or Switzerland to use its one-time price adjustment. The page prints no year, so check your own account.


Why re-read the official pages before acting?

Airbnb's Resource Center says its information may have changed since publication, and the Expedia FAQ's page metadata shows a 20 October 2026 modified date. Check the live pages first.


Sources

Every official page used for this post, read on 2026-10-22 (last checked 2026-10-22). Quotes in the post are 15 words or fewer and attributed inline.



This post is not legal advice. Check the current policy on the pages above before you act.


Featured photo: Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash (stock photo).


Related Reading

More on the fall 2026 changes, fee math and multi-channel habits.


Work with Crest & Cove Creative

Selling on Vrbo, Airbnb and your own channels is a lot easier when your marketing works the same way every week.


Crest & Cove Creative helps independent hosts build marketing that holds up when platform rules change. Visit https://www.crestcove.co or call (256) 998-7502.

Comments


bottom of page